Homemade Baked Blueberry Doughnuts with Blueberry Glaze

Doughnuts are yummy. Doughnuts are unhealthy. Doughnuts should only be consumed rarely/occasionally/almost never…right?

Yes. But with these baked, not fried blueberry doughnuts, there is almost no guilt. 

Almost.

There is still quite a bit of sugar in the glaze recipe. So if you want to avoid the glaze, go ahead. These fresh yummy moist blueberry doughnuts are amazing on their own.

Now here is the recipe I used:

Recipe courtesy of: http://www.onegreenplanet.org/vegan-food/recipe-baked-blueberry-donuts/

I didn’t make any changes to the doughnuts.

However, I thought I had frozen blueberries for the glaze.

I thought wrong. I only had fresh.

So I improvised. I boiled all the glaze ingredients (substituting fresh not frozen blueberries) PLUS about 1/2 cup water.

I ended up with a decent glaze, but not as good as our Homemade Berry Compote for Homemade Pancakes.

I would recommend using the frozen blueberries.

Anyway…what’s the best part about these blueberry doughnuts? They are 100% vegan!

So what are you waiting for? It’s almost blueberry season!

Remember, sugar should be consumed in moderation. These doughnuts are not healthy just because they are made differently than conventional doughnuts. Please eat these in moderation, but enjoy the fact that you are eating a better-for-you doughnut that has so much juicy blueberry flavor!

Enjoy! Eating right never tasted so good!

Leave a Reply

