Buffalo Quinoa Bites with Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

This recipe for Buffalo Quinoa Bites caught my eye as inward searching for vegan dinner recipes.

Quinoa is all the rage these days, and just because it is “in” doesn’t mean that Quinoa is a fad. 

Quinoa is considered an “ancient grain”. It has been called a superfood and a source of complete protein. It’s also rich in vitamins and minerals

Quinoa was called the “mother of all grains” by the Incas, where it was a staple crop.

I wanted to try it as soon as possible.

I had only had Quinoa one time before I made the Buffalo Quinoa Bites, and it was in a veggie wrap. I wasn’t too impressed.

But THESE bites provided tons of flavor!

Apologies for the bad picture. I am working on my food picture taking skills.

Ok so here is the recipie:

This recipe is from: http://www.halfbakedharvest.com/crispy-buffalo-quinoa-bites-salad/ 

I did 3 things differently from the original recipe.

First, I used Organic Tri Colored Quinoa from Aldi’s.

Second, I used just regular old Organic Buttermilk Ranch salad dressing to dip these babies into.

Third, I used Schultz’s Gourmet Spicy Original Hot Sauce from Natural Grocers.

Don’t mind the dressing directions in the recipe. I did not make it, as this was an original recipe for a salad. I just made the bites like they were chicken wings.

I had only 2 issues with this recipe.

#1- The bites didn’t get crispy on ALL sides like the directions said to cook them. They really got crispy on the top and bottom and not the sides.

#2 – This dinner idea took longer than most of my recipes. I did have to cook the Quinoa before use, and this was the first time I made this recipe. If you already have cooked Quinao, you can throw this together pretty easy. Practice makes perfect, right?

What I LOVED about the Buffalo Quinoa Bites:

They were crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside, and packed full of flavor. They were also super filling, which works well for a light and small dinner. My toddler did not like them, but that is not to say she won’t after a few tries.

I have started searching for other Quinoa recipies now that I loved these Buffalo Bites so much.

I really love how versatile Quinoa is, and I hope to replace our rice with more Quinoa and ancient grains.

Enjoy!

Eating right never tasted so good!

One thought on “Buffalo Quinoa Bites with Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

Leave a Reply

