Tempeh Gyro Sandwich with Hummus and Falafel

I LOVE Middle Eastern and Greek food.

I wanted to make a gyro, without using lamb meat. 

So I created a gyro using tempeh. It’s a soy product that goes through a controlled fermentation that binds soybeans into cake form like a veggieburger patty. (Wikipedia).

I seasoned the tempeh with equal amounts of the following spices:

I sliced the tempeh into strips and rubbed the spice mix into it very well, to get all the area covered.

Next, I cooked the spiced tempeh in a frying pan over medium heat. I used about 2 Tbsp’s. of EVOL and cooked for about 2 minutes on both sides.

In my opinion, the tempeh acted very similar to gyro meat and I was very impressed with the taste and flavor of the whole sandwich.

Ingredients:

1 package of Whole Foods pita bread

1 package Yummy’s falafel

1 container Mohammad’s Hummus

1 container tzatziki sauce

1 package tempeh

Directions:

1. Cook tempeh as described above

2. Heat up falafel in oven or microwave

3. Warm up pita bread

4. Open tzatziki and hummus and use as much or as little as you like!

5. Make your sandwich and enjoy!!

I like to spread hummus over the whole pita, break apart 1-2 falafels, place 2-3 slices of gyro tempeh, and a couple spoonfuls of tzatziki on mine. A small handful of spinach does the trick mma me sure you have some extra tzatziki on the side for dipping!

One sandwich is SUPER delicious and FILLING! This is a great quick, easy, healthy dinner or lunch!

Eating right never tasted so good!

One thought on “Tempeh Gyro Sandwich with Hummus and Falafel

Leave a Reply

